SHORETEL IS NOW PART OF MITEL. See how powering connections in the cloud is now brilliantly simple.

Viewing and Assigning Roles and Permissions

Content

Connect CLOUD users can view their assigned Authorized Contact roles and permissions. If you are a Decision Maker or a Phone Manager, you can also edit the Authorized Contact roles assigned to users on your account. The Roles and Permissions tab displays the roles currently assigned to the user. See Roles and Permissions for a description of the available roles.

Assigning Roles

If you are a Decision Maker or Phone Manager for your account, you can assign, edit, and unassign roles to users on your account.

NOTES: 

To assign roles:

  1. On the Personal Information page, click the Roles and Permissions tab.
  2. Under ShoreTel Roles, in the roles list, select the role to assign to the user.
  3. Click Add.

    The role is added to the list.

  4. In the Scope column, select one of the following:
    • Account - to assign the user the role for the entire account
    • Location - to assign the user the role for a specified location only

      NOTES:

      • A user can only be assigned a role once per location or account.
      • Location cannot be selected for the Decision Maker or Billing role; these roles are account-level roles only.
  5. If you selected Location, select the desired location in the Location list.
  6. Repeat steps 2-5 to assign additional roles to the user.

Editing Roles and Permissions

You can edit the scope of a user role. For example, if a user is assigned the role of Emergency Contact for a location, you can edit the scope to change the role to Emergency Contact for the account.

  1. On the Personal Information page, click the Roles and Permissions tab.
  2. Under ShoreTel Roles, in the roles list, do one of the following for the role you want to edit:
    • Select Account to change the scope of the role from location to account.
    • Select Location to change the scope of the role from account to location, and then select the desired location in the Location list.
    • Select a new location in the Location list to change the location that the user is assigned the role for.

Unassigning Roles and Permissions

  1. On the Personal Information page, click the Roles and Permissions tab.
  2. Under ShoreTel Roles, click Delete next to the role you want to unassign from the user.

Related Articles

Viewing and Assigning Roles and Permissions
Roles and Permissions
Editing Personal Information
Editing User Information
Configuring Notification Preferences
Connect Portal Documentation

ShoreTel Dates

Created Date 2016-08-12 - Modified Date 2017-10-25


Article: 000012060