SHORETEL IS NOW PART OF MITEL. See how powering connections in the cloud is now brilliantly simple.

Managing Your Personal Contacts

Content

The Personal Contacts directory serves as your own personal, customizable directory. This directory can contain contacts that are internal and external to your organization. Your Personal Contacts are accessible from your phone and the Connect Portal.

You can add, edit, and delete contacts from your Personal Contacts, and you can import a list of contacts or export your contact list. You can also create groups for organizing your contacts.

Adding a Contact

  1. Log in to the Connect Portal.
  2. On the Home menu, under Contacts, click Personal Contacts.
  3. Click Add on the toolbar.

    The Add Contact dialog box appears.

  4. In the Group list, select the group to add the contact to.

    The default groups available are Contacts, Favorites, and Monitor List. For information about adding groups, see Adding a Contact Group.

  5. In the First Name and Last Name fields, type the first and last name for the contact.
  6. (Optional) In the Company Name and Department Name fields, type the company and department names for the contact.
  7. (Optional) In any or all of the phone fields, type a phone number for the contact.

    The phone number must be digits only; do not include dashes, spaces, or parenthesis.

    NOTE: For internal contacts, you can enter the 4-digit extension or the 10-digit phone number. For external contacts, you must enter the full 10-digit phone number.

  8. (Optional) In the Fax number field, type a fax number for the contact.
  9. In the Default number list, select the phone number to use as the default number for the contact.
  10. (Optional) In the Email field, type the email address for the contact.
  11. (Optional) In the IM field, type the instant messaging information for the contact.
  12. Click OK to save the contact.

Editing a Contact

  1. Log in to the Connect Portal.
  2. On the Home menu, under Contacts, click Personal Contacts.
  3. Select the check box next to the contact you want to edit, and then click Update on the toolbar.
  4. Edit the contact information as desired.
  5. Click OK to save your changes.

Deleting a Contact

  1. Log in to the Connect Portal.
  2. On the Home menu, under Contacts, click Personal Contacts.
  3. Select the check box next to the contact you want to edit, and then click Delete on the toolbar.
  4. When prompted, click Yes to confirm that you want to delete the contact.

Importing Contacts

You can import a list of contacts from a .csv (Comma Separated Values) file into your Personal Contacts directory. The file must be an Excel spreadsheet, saved as a .csv file and have the following characteristics:

NOTE: The First Name column must contain data; all other fields are optional.

Importing a List of Contacts

  1. Log in to the Connect Portal.
  2. On the Home menu, under Contacts, click Personal Contacts.
  3. Click Import on the toolbar.
  4. In the Import into Personal Contacts dialog box, click Browse.
  5. Navigate to and select the .csv file that contains your contact list.
  6. Click Import.

    A message is displayed informing you that importing was successful or that an error occurred.

  7. Click Close to close the dialog box and view your Personal Contacts.

Adding a Contact Group

You can add groups for organizing your contacts.

  1. Log in to the Connect Portal.
  2. On the Home menu, under Contacts, click Personal Contacts.
  3. Click Add Group on the toolbar.
  4. In the Add Group dialog box, type a name for the new group in the Name field, and then click OK.

    The group is added to your Personal Contacts list.

Deleting a Contact Group

When you delete a Personal Contacts group, all contacts in the group you are deleting are moved to a different group.

  1. Log in to the Connect Portal.
  2. On the Home menu, under Contacts, click Personal Contacts.
  3. Right-click the group that you want to delete, and then click Delete.
  4. In the Delete Group dialog box, in the Group list, select the group to move contacts to, and then click OK.

    The group is deleted from your Personal Contacts list and all contacts in the deleted group are moved to the selected group.

Related Articles

Using Contact Directories
Managing Your Company Phonebook
Using Call Logs
Managing Your User Settings
Managing Voicemail
Connect Portal Documentation

ShoreTel Dates

Created Date 2016-08-12 - Modified Date 2017-10-11


Article: 000012007